Green with Envy

Look I’m a Ghost!

Over the past 2 days I have fought with PVC pipes, cloth, and my PC. I don’t have the ability to paint a wall green which  would have made this much easier. How do you get connect to 3.5 yard strips of cloth without a sewing machine? Hot glue my friend. There are $30 sewing machines at Walmart (which I thought about investing in), but my adventure into streaming is one I would like to keep under a low budget level. Why? It should be obvious that most people do not create a successful Twitch channel and those that do are able to afford the expensive nice things in life for their channel. That in mind, I digress and will discuss how I made my functional green screen for about $50. I realized that it can be done for $10-$20 depending on your need, but for Twitch a $10-$20.

  1. PVC (Maybe $5)
  2. Ugly Green/Magenta fabric (2-3 yards cheap) ($10?)
  3. Hot glue (I already had this at my house, but sticks and gun are probably $5-10)
  4. 2x $7 dollar clip night lamps (Additional if needed)
  5. A dark room with blackout curtains (easier to control lighting if using the Walmart lights)

I built a much larger green screen than necessary. The best way to figure out the size you need is to setup the camera with it visible on the PC. Hold up some type of long sheet, paper, w/e as long as it fills up the entire camera picture. Mark off using some writing utensil the edges of the sheet where they meet the camera screens corners. Measure the height and width. You will need a little bit of extra fabric (it just always helps). I used 3/4″ PVC pipe and it is sturdy and worked well. You will need 2 right angled elbow corners and 2 three way corner styled connectors (Maybe 3). The idea is to create a square with the base corners have a bit of pipe serving as a foot to balance the screen. You might want an extra pole to connect from the top middle of the box to the floor for support, but that is up to you. The next part is to hot glue gun the fabric taut around the back part of the PVC pipe.

The last step is the lighting. The lighting in your room might be good, but if it isn’t Walmart has $7 clip-on night lights that worked well for me. The lights will need to be played with, but trust me when I say that you should not point the lights straight at you. I spent 4-5 hours trying to figure out why bits and pieces of my shirt or face were disappearing. It was the lighting. I eventually angled the lights away or bouncing of the ceiling. Another good idea would be to create a DIY lighting box attachment which will soften the light and shadows. I found some ideas on Google which I might actually do.

Leave a Reply

